Day 16-Diet soda vs. regular soda

Total weight loss: 12.5 pounds!

Today, I am writing this blog post from home. I have no voice and I feel plain rotten (hoping the shots kick in soon) but I didn’t want to leave my faithful blog followers hanging.

Luckily I had a post tucked away just in case I ran into a problem. If you drink regular or diet sodas you might want to pay close attention, especially if you are having trouble losing weight.

If you missed this morning’s “No Excuses” report check out my Facebook page. There is a video link attached. Let me know what you think.

Hope you started your morning off right with a wholesome breakfast. Remember…take it day to day. That weight you are carrying didn’t come on overnight so you are not going to lose it overnight-but you WILL lose with some simple diet adjustments (refer to past blog posts) 

Look for my special Valentine’s Day blog edition tomorrow. Start thinking NOW what you are going to eat tomorrow that won’t throw you off base too bad.

Have a great Monday!

Elizabeth

“How many of you are addicted to carbonated beverages? How many diet drinks or sodas do you chug down in a day? Just because it says “diet” doesn’t mean it is good for you.

In my first “No Excuses” series piece you saw where I use to enjoy drinking Coca-Cola. I haven’t touched one since before Christmas. Oh I have days where I miss that cold fountain taste but I’m not willing to sacrafice empty calories in place of a healthy meal.

A dear friend of mine was a diet-coke-a-holic. She would stop by the local drive-thru and order a super size diet drink at least 2-3 times a day. She was addicted to the caffeine and the taste. Last year she was diagnosed as being allergic to caffeine and tests showed that because she drank so many diet drinks it was causing her to go into early stages of osteoperosis. It took strength and will power but she stopped cold turkey. Now she drinks decaf beverages and water. My friend struggled with a weight issue and the doctor told her the main reason was because she was drinking too many diet drinks. You are scratching your head going, but it’s diet cola!? Think abou this: they have to put something in it to make it taste good or people wouldn’t buy them, right?

Not only did she indulge in the big gulps from the drive-thru but her refridgerator at home was well stocked too. I asked her what it was like to quit-lay down the diet drink for good. She told me it was the hardest thing she’s ever done in her life! She went through terrible witihdrawls and had days where she shook, her head hurt and she felt so drug down she didn’t think she could put one foot in front of the other. After the side effects of quiting subsided she realized if the withdrawl was that bad and it was destroying her body she had to make this drastic lifestyle change.

So I decided to do some research on-line. Here is what I found from www.eatingwell.com. “Soda’s in general are full of sugars or sugar substitutes; some kinds of soda, namely colas, contain phosphoric acid, which, according to some studies, may harm bones. High intakes of added sugars are linked with high blood pressure and high triglyceride levels, risk factors for heart disease—which is why the American Heart Association (AHA) recommends limiting all sugars to no more than about 6 teaspoons a day if you’re a woman, no more than 9 teaspoons if you’re a man. A 12-ounce can of cola has about 8 teaspoons—which translates to about 130 calories.  Some studies show that consuming no-calorie sweeteners may actually make you hungrier.”

Drinking soda has been shown to contribute to tooth decay. The acid in soda has been shown to erode tooth enamel, leading to dental cavities as well. In fact, the acid in soda can begin damaging enamel just 20 minutes after drinking soda.

www.livestrong.com says while sugar itself does not cause diabetes, high sugar intake raises blood glucose levels, which can lead to a variety of health problems including diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease and stroke. People who consume a lot of foods and beverages, like carbonated sodas to which sugar has been added, often have higher body mass indexes — an indicator of how much of your body weight is fat. Being overweight or obese is a known risk factor for diabetes. Carbonated sodas have no nutritional value yet are packed full of calories.

And when it comes to caffeine, livestrong says…Children younger than age 12 and pregnant women should avoid consuming caffeine. Because pregnant women can pass the stimulant on to their babies, The South Dakota Department of Health recommends no more than 300 mg of caffeine a day if you are pregnant. Caffeine remains in your unborn baby’s bloodstream longer. Sodas with caffeine should not replace milk in a child’s daily diet. Children need adequate calcium intake to build strong bones. Children should limit their caffeine consumption to less than 35 to 40 mg a day.

Not to mention sodas, especially diet drinks, have been linked to kidney stones! Ouch!

So I would seriously reconsider popping the top on my favorite bottle of fizz. Is it really worth the health issues and extra pounds? I know it is difficult to stop a habit you’ve been indugling in for years but if I can put the coca-cola away you can too.

I drink skim milk, unsweet tea, and water. The impact of my decision to stop drinking these harmful drinks has lead to success on the scales. If you must have fiz, try seltzer water. Dollar General has the best flavored seltzer bottle waters I’ve ever tried-no calories, no harmful sweetners. Kroger sells the same kind of water too. And they are dirt cheap. I’m talking like .75 a bottle (try the strawberry or strawberry kiwi. You can’t go wrong).

I hope this helps you in your journey to stay motivated. Sodas and diet drinks just aren’t worth it. You don’t need them to help you make it through the day. You’ve got this licked! Once you get past the urge to drink them all day, you will feel so much better!”

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 16-Diet soda vs. regular soda

  1. It is really hard to cut back and stay off of the dt drinks. I have my addiction down to one a day now-first thing in the morning and ice cold. I was drinking several cans and sometimes a 20 oz to boot per day. It is my main source of caffeine. Not a coffee drinker and wont drink tea because I only like sugar sweetened. I dont drink or smoke so my dt drinks are my go to on a bad day or when I am stressed. Thanks for sharing this info it helps me stay focused.

  2. Kelley says:

    Hope you feel better soon. Also another alternative is from Crystal Light. It’s a flavor packet that is sweetened with Stevia, a natural sweeter. The packets are called Crystal Natural and the box is white. Comes in a berry flavor, strawberry kiwi and lemonade. A great way to keep your water intake up but with a little flavor. WE CAN DO THIS!!!

  3. Michele K. says:

    I bought a SodaStream soda maker, not to make my own sodas, but because I pretty much only drink “club soda” (or bubbly water, as my family calls it). Not only can you make your own club soda, but you can add flavors to the bottles. It saves me time and money because I don’t have to run to the store to buy bottles AND I don’t have to recycle the empty bottles. I just refill the SodaStream bottle and zap it with the CO2. I can also control the amount of bubbles, a lot or a little. You can get them now at so many places: Bed, Bath & Beyond, JC Penney, Kohl’s. I couldn’t live without mine. I get my bubbles that I like, but no calories!!

  4. Wanda Dicus says:

    Elizabeth, have you tried the flavored waters you can get at Walmart – it just says Clear American on the bottle, it’s a sparking water beverage with 0 sugars, 0 caffeine, 0 calories, 0 sodium. My flavor is Key Lime, and it is so, so good. And, it has plenty of fizz!

  5. Bob says:

    I’ve been saying this for years about diet soda, I love regular COKE its great but its a treat once in a while. Now its water most of the day but I’m not giving up a 1/2 a pot of coffee in the morning just yet.

  6. Amanda says:

    I like water. Never really loved it until I weaned myself off my addiction of Diet Mountain Dew. There is an addictive quality to sofas. Definitely treat them as a “treat” if you consume them at all. Question: what about Crystal Light or the generic versions? Have you researched it? I was curious as to any negative health effects.
    Hope you feel better. Thanks for keeping the blog going’

    • Amanda-

      I don’t see a problem with Crystal Light. I like the Wal-Mart version of the sugar free drinks. To me, they don’t have that strong after taste. I might watch how much of it I drink since they are laced with artificial sweetener.

      I am trying to feel better but it is a slow process.

      Thanks so much!
      Elizabeth

  7. Renee says:

    This has been a problem for me for a long time. I only drink diet coke…8 or more a day. I know its bad for me, and I really want to stop. I like to have that fizzy taste and have been trying different things to replace the diet coke. I really like the Target brand flavored water–and its fizzy–but way more expensive.

    Keep up the good work–I would like to lose 40 pounds. I know I have to give up the diet coke, but I LOVE it so so much!

    • Renee-that is a lot of diet drinks. I don’t have to tell you that’s just plain bad for you. I’m glad to see that you are trying to replace the sodas with water. Go to the Dollar Store or Kroger. They have the same kind of fizzy flavored water. I think its .75 a bottle.

      Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

