Day 15-Heating pad, 2 shots, and what I’m NOT eating

I’ve got the curd. I mean I have a double dose of the feel bad bugs today. I just got back from the doctor’s office. I have a bacterial infection they are treating as strep throat. I got 2 shots, an antibiotic and a sterioid, so I am hoping to get back on my feet again soon.

Don’t forget Monday morning on WAFF-48 News Today, part 2 of “No Excuses” will air. This week I reveal the unsettling results from a recent blood work up. It’s a story you can’t afford to miss!

Since it is almost impossible for me to swallow foods or liquids right now I have had a very difficult time trying to reach my calorie intake. Today I had a spoonful of mashed potatoes and a biscuit. I would never eat both on this diet plan. And I would certainly never encourage any of you to do the same. But when you are sick, and it is difficult to eat, any little bit of calories is better than none.

I want you to stay motivated and keep up your progress! Hopefully by tomorrow I will be able to incorporate a few more foods into my diet-and ones that are good for me.

Remember to eat a good breakfast. Replace your morning Poptart or sugary cereal with eggs, turkey sausage and a piece of fruit. Try oatmeal with a glass of skim milk or a low-calorie yogurt. This is the meal that is going to give you the energy to get your day started!! If you are unsuare of what to eat, go back to last week’s blog and look at those food groups I posted. That will give you ideas and help jump start your program.

So while I am in bed sick, why don’t you tell me some of the goals you’ve set for yourself? What kind of eating plan are you on? Did you prepare this week’s meals with calorie/carb/sodium intake in mind? What exercise are you incorporating into your day? I would enjoy the feedback.

Hope you all have a great day! Don’t forget to catch my “No Excuses ” report tomorrow morning on WAFF_48 News Today πŸ™‚

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 15-Heating pad, 2 shots, and what I’m NOT eating

  1. Lynn says:

    I too have been sick…no energy for the gym but need to get there for at least a walk….hope you feel better!!!!

  2. Eva says:

    One of my biggest goals is to get in better physical shape, so I can walk across campus at Indiana University on May 4 to see my daughter receive her Master’s degree!!! I just need to be able to be & look healthier for that event. That’s what drew me to your blog, knowing that you are a graduate student, working hard at school, on WAFF-48 & keeping us motivated to get healthier!
    Thank you! πŸ™‚

  3. I am on my 6th day of counting calories; I also talked my hubby into counting along with me! I am starting out by not worrying about carbs, sodium etc. so I can get used to the idea of setting limits without driving myself too batty. Once I get the calories down pat, then I will add in more things to cut back on. I already watch my cholesterol intake and cut my sugar back when I can (i.e. using Splenda in my iced tea). I have been working out 2-3 days a week but have been unable to go since I started counting my calories. I have already lost 4 pounds so I can wait until I add my workout routine next week to see if I lose more weight! My hubby has lost 7 pounds so far and I am very happy for him, but jealous at the same time! πŸ™‚

    The main reason I am doing this is just to feel healthier plus I have been the same size for years. I am approaching 40 so it is time for a change! Thanks for all the support you have been giving to all of us trying to do this!! Oh and btw, I use the β€˜Lose It’ app, it helps SO much! Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  4. Brannon Lentz says:

    Feel better soon.

  5. Karen says:

    1-2 pounds a week is my goal. If I do that, I’ll meet my goal by the end of summer. With your motivation, it sure it making it easier. As for exercise, I’m lacking at the moment. I generally walk, but the weather has not cooperated. Once the time changes, I’ll have more daylight after work. As for , I’m just counting calories at the moment. Hopefully, I can get more in depth at some point. Changing this way is all new to me. I’ve just dieted in the past, I am enjoying this much more than any diet.

  6. M.M. says:

    I HOPE YOU GET TO FEELING MUCH BETTER SOON! EVERYTIME I TRY TO GET STARTED ON MY DIET SOMETHING ALWAYS KNOCK ME OFF! I NEED MUCH HELP! TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF! SO HAPPY FOR YOU KEEP IT UP! ALL ( smiles).

  7. Lynda says:

    So sorry to hear you are sick! I decided in November 2011 that I was going to lose weight.
    So far I have lost 43 pounds! I have 57 more pounds to go to reach my goal of losing 100 pounds. When I reach my goal I will be at healthy weight for my height of 5’7″. The only thing that works for me on my diet is calorie counting. I can eat anything I want as long as I don’t go over the calorie count for the day. Luckily I do not suffer from high blood pressure or high colesterol so that does not complicate my diet. I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

