Day 14- What are YOUR goals?

Happy Saturday! I apologize for the late post. I’m working to finish my mid-term, we had birthday lunch with my mom and I am sick. My throat is so sore I can hardly swallow.  I ate a little bit of my lunch but it was hard to get it down. So my calorie count is probably much lower than it should be. I didn’t weigh today. I gave myself a break from the scales but I’ll jump back on them tomorrow and post my weight. Hope if you weighed today you saw much success in the numbers.

Now, back to today’s blog question “What are YOUR goals?” For some its to improve their blood glucose levels or lose weight? Maybe reduce blood pressure or lower cholesterol. Perhaps you want to fit into a small size, get ready for bikini season or you have a trip or class reunion planned. Whatever the reason, work towards achieving that goal. You can do it if you are determined enough to make changes.

Control your portions…Keep a record of what you eat and drink. Include the amounts.

Get in the habit of weighing or measuring food portions.

Read the Nutrition Facts on the food label to see what the standard serving sizes are for the food you are eating.

Aim for a healthy weight. Set a weight goal that is health for you.

Be active and move your body every day-walking, exercising, gardening or playing.

Do at least 150 m inutes of moderate-intensity physical activity (such as walking) each week.

Drink plenty of water or other calorie-free fluids.

If you drink alcohol, set limits. Women should have no more than 1 drink per day. The limit is 2 drinks per day if you’re a man.

Eat fast foods and restaurant foods less often. This is a hard one for me!

So with these tips in mind start thinking about your diet plan for this week. Plan out your meals, watch the carb/sodium/salt intake. If you are just joining me—it is not too late to start! Come on…I’d love to have you along on this journey. Somedays are diamonds, some days are coal. But the motto here is -don’t give up, don’t beat yourself up, look ahead to great things and great success!

More tomorrow….
Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 14- What are YOUR goals?

  1. Krissy says:

    Today is one of those days when you could eat everything in the kitchen! I haven’t though!! I decided to sit and read all of your post over! It has helped me to stay on track today! Wanted to say THANK YOU!!!

    • Krissy-good for you! That is some determination 🙂 If you do have a cheat meal it is ok. In fact it helps trick your metabolism and getting it moving again. If you do indulge just don’t over do it. Savor whatever you are craving then get back on track. Nothing to this!!

      Good luck!
      Elizabeth

  2. Lynn says:

    I have also felt under the weather these last few days…soups and yogurt some oj foe the big C. I have been on this journey almost a year…and I agree so much it is now a life change and the way now!!! Hope you feel better get some rest toooo!!!
    Lynn

    • thank you Lynn! I’m hoping to feel much better soon. Soup and yogurt is yummy but watch the sodium intake in those soups. Sodium can put as much weight on us as calories!

      Have a great Sunday!
      Elizabeth

  3. Kathy says:

    Hi , I missed your tv spot on the weight loss. What was the doctor so concerned about that worried him more than the weight? Agree with eat what you are craving, just a little. Helps me from going overboard.

    • Kathy-you are in luck! It airs tomorrow morning on WAFF-48 News Today. If you miss it, our web producers will post the segment to this blog page. I think it is a story that many people can relate to.

      Best to you!
      Elizabeth

  4. Bob says:

    I lost a lot of weight over the summer and fall, after x-mas and new years I gain 10 of the 80 back, I keep flip floping not gettin serious about the next 60 lbs, but I’ll roll with ya its right on time for those of us that snaped the new years resoluion, Bob

    • Bob-Way to go with the weight loss! That is awesome. Think in terms of 10 pound goals. Once you’ve reached that goal, move to the next set of 10. It makes losing weight seem a lot less stressful. Glad you are following me! Let me know if there is something you would like to see in particular on here.

      Best to you!
      Elizabeth

  5. Eva says:

    Had a cheat meal yesterday for an early Valentine’s lunch while out of town with my husband. I had eggplant parm, only about 1/2 the pasta w/ a salad & totally left off bread, so maybe it wasn’t too bad. I was visiting my brother who had a heart attack & bypass surgery and the thought of what all he’s been thru inspires me to keep at my weight loss goal & get healthier. Thanks for your support to us all! Now on Tuesday night for our Valentine meal, I will cook a very small steak, vegetables & have strawberries for dessert! No chocolates allowed! 😉 Feel better soon, Elizabeth!

  6. Darlene says:

    Get better soon Elizabeth………..I think we are going to eat out for Valentines Day, but I usually
    have some grilled salmon and broccoli, water and a baked sweet potato….no dessert.
    Blessings,
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

