Day 12-Weight loss through a friend’s eyes

Happy Friday!

My long time friend Rhea Fuller is today’s guest blogger. Rhea and I have been friends since we were teenagers. We met at Horizon’s summer camp, attended Freed-Hardeman University together, and have remained good friends through the years. This girl is one of my best friends. She is the one that if I called and needed a way to get out of jail she would bring the nail file baked in a cake so I could pick the lock and bust out! 😉

Rhea lives in Jackson, Tennessee. She is a school teacher. Her husband, Jeff is a Tennessee Highway Patrolman. They have one son, Colton who is 10.  Rhea and I don’t get to visit very often but when we do-watch out! In December, we met up with 3 other members of our little group for a girl’s weekend in Nashville. You know its a good time when a top 10 list is made! I don’t think I’ve laughed that hard in a long time. I can’t wait until our next get together.

I asked Rhea to share her weight loss story with all of you. I think it is something we can relate to. She is the one who introduced me to the “Lose It” app, one of the tools in my battle of the bulge arsenal. This is Rhea’s story in her own words. I hope she brings as much inspiration to you as she does to me just being my friend.

Thanks Rhea Lynn-love you!

“Have you ever chosen friends because they were the same size as you? Have you ever eaten a whole box of Suzy-Q’s in one sitting because you thought you were fat? (Yeah like that helped!) Have you ever said to yourself, tomorrow I will do better? Well, that was me! I found myself trying to lose weight but every diet I tried never worked. That’s because it was a “DIET.” I have been there so many times since my son was born trying to lose “my baby fat.”

In January I began thinking… “I really should stop using that as an excuse since my son turned 10 this year! “ So, I did something about it. I made a “lifestyle change.” Not a diet, not starving myself or depriving myself of foods that I love. I simply dropped the number of calories I eat in a day and do my best to exercise 2 days a week. I also log my food and exercise daily on loseit.com.

My husband and I started doing this in January and since then I have lost 10lbs. (25 lbs. since November but that’s a different story) If I can do this ANYONE can! I know everyone says that, but if you knew me, you’d know I was speaking the truth, I love my meat and ‘taters’.

Let me give you some helpful tips that we use that can help you on your road to discovering the “real you!”

1. Set a goal: Set your all time goal…what do you want to lose? Set a weekly goal? Monthly goal? And when you do it reward yourself with something.

2. Be honest with yourself: Don’t say “I will do better tomorrow if you know you won’t.” If you mess up, you mess up. Don’t make excuses. Don’t blame your eating on your time of the month, because you’re depressed, because you had a bad day at work, etc…that’s a cop out! Just be honest…you ate it because you wanted to. Just start over the next day.

3. Write it down. It helps to write down everything you eat for 2 reasons: It makes you accountable. You can see what you ate that either helped you lose weight or gain weight.  MOTTO: if you BITE it you WRITE it … (yes even that stick of gum!)

4. Buddy up! You’ve heard about the buddy system, it works in weight loss as well. You need to have 2-3 buddies that you can call on anytime that you are feeling weak and you know they can help you through that moment.

Keep on doing the best you can and take one day a week to “trick” your metabolism by eating more than your calorie amounts.

REWARD your self don’t deprive yourself otherwise you will fail. If you want a cookie, eat a cookie otherwise you will find yourself eating the whole pack!!

Elizabeth thanks for allowing me to be a guest blogger, I hope I have helped someone out there realize it is possible to be happier, healthier and skinny.”

Rhea

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 12-Weight loss through a friend’s eyes

  1. January1957 says:

    Im going to work with you Elizabeth. Turned 55 and weigh 233 lbs. I am 5’9″ so it helps hide the numbers but they are there. I have been waiting for you no excuses to come on. Will catch you on FB.
    thanks
    pat

    • My “No Excuses” series runs every Monday morning on WAFF-48 News today. Plus you can follow me on this blog for helpful information. So glad you decided to join me! Best of luck to you!
      Elizabeth

  2. M.M says:

    Thanks for everything! I’m going to try to get started! Big thank you to Elizabeth and Rhea! God bless! Have great weekend!

  3. CHRISTY says:

    I HAVE NO ONE TO START WITH AND NOT A GREAT SUPPORT GROUP ON MY END THEY ALL SEE I HAVE TRIED BEFORE AND FOR WHATEVER REASON (MOSTLY ME) I NEVER LOST OR STUCK WITH ANY PLAN…..I WANT TO LOOSE 50 LBS. SO I CAN PLAY WITH MY GRANDKIDS AND ENJOY TIME WITH THEM WHILE THEY RIDE THEIR BIKE RUN IN PARK ETC. I ASKED GOD TO HELP AND SOMEHOW I WAS LED TO ELIZABETHS BLOG (CANT YET FIND ALL INFO ON IT NEED—DUE TO LACK OF INTELLIGENCE…LOL) BUT I HAVE READ EACH DAY AND TRYING TO GET ALL MY DUCKS IN ROW TO START. (MEAL PLAN ETC)

    • Christy-

      Thanks so much for joining my weight loss journey. The plan is very simple to follow. I stick with a 1300-1500 calorie eating plan. I eat no carbs through the week (pasta, rice, potatoes, etc). I stick to high protein, veggies, fruits low-fat dairy and lean meats. All of the information you need to get started is in my blog post. This week, I laid out food groups that will help you know the foods you can eat and how much of each you can have. Incorporate at least 30 minutes of exercise in your day and you’ve got this! Couldn’t be simpler. 🙂 Take it one meal and one snack a day. Don’t over think it. Don’t get discouraged staring at a certain goal weight. I find it easier to break it down in 10 pound increments. I’ve already met my first goal. If you start small you will finish big.

      If you have any questions let me know and I will answer them as best I can.

      Good luck!
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

