Day 10-Guest Blogger Edition

Today, I am thrilled to have my good friend Emily Dean as a guest blogger. Emily is a wife and mother of 2 adorable children. The first time we met was at Beltline Church of Christ. She passed me a note in church asking who cut my hair and we’ve been friends ever since.

As long as I’ve known Emily she’s always tried to eat right, exercise and practice good overall health  Like many of us, one day she found herself facing a weight issue and unsure of how to lose the pounds.

Here is Emily’s story in her own words on how she found the best way for her to lose weight and keep it off. Emily graciously allowed me to post before and after pictures. You will find them at the end of her story. Thanks Em for sharing! You are a true inspiration to us all!

“I, like many adolescent girls, went through a “chubby” stage in middle school but for the most part I have never really struggled with my weight. That is until I had my first kid. I gained 50 pounds with my first pregnancy and went through a long stage of depression after the baby was born. I was the biggest I had ever been and had no idea how to get the weight off. I tried workout dvd’s at home but I knew I had to do more. I talked to my husband about joining Jenny Craig but he laughed it off, said I didn’t need it, that I needed to give it time and the weight would just “fall off”. Sounds pretty typical coming from a man, right? Not long after that, a friend of mine who also recently had a baby, told me she was thinking about joining Weight Watchers and wanted to know if I would join with her. This time instead of asking my husband what he thought, I told him I was going to join. I started seeing results on the scale immediately and realized quite quickly I didn’t know as much about food as I thought. My portion control was not the problem, I was raised hearing my Mother say “Are you sure you need to eat that?”, it was WHAT I was eating that was the problem. The first week on Weight Watchers I went through my pantry and calculated the points of my favorite foods and what I ate on a regular basis. I was shocked at how bad these “regular” foods were. I learned to eat more vegetables and high fiber foods to stay satisfied and full longer. I also learned to listen to my stomach and only eat when I felt hunger, not when I was bored or needed a new taste in my mouth. I continued to exercise and follow my meal plan and before I knew it my weight was less than when I got pregnant! I continued to weigh in weekly for 6 more weeks and maintained my weight then became a lifetime member with Weight Watchers. 4 years later I still follow the ideas Weight Watchers teaches and although I don’t count my points daily I know when I sit down for a meal what are good and bad food choices. I’m not going to lie, there are days when stress makes me feel like I want to eat a bowl full of comfort food and chase it with a chocolate bath so on those days I get a taste of whatever it is that’s lurking in the shadows and move on. I give myself a little bit of tasteful satisfaction, take a few deep breaths and go on about my business. If you totally deprive yourself of the things you crave, you will end up indulging more than you mean to and will feel horrible about it after wards.

Weight Watchers is the best thing that could have happened to me and I will carry what I learned with me for the rest of my life.”

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 10-Guest Blogger Edition

  1. Lindsey Bell says:

    Yay Emily! You helped keep me going in WW 🙂

  2. Darlene says:

    Way to go Emily……………thinking about joining WW myself………..

  3. Pops says:

    Lookin’ good my darlin’, Dad

  4. M.M says:

    Emily you look awesome!

  5. Emily Dean says:

    Thanks guys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

