Day 9-Setting goals and sticking to them

Total weight loss: 9 pounds!

Thank you all for the kind words and support about my blog and weight loss piece. I enjoy hearing from you all. So feel free to ask questions or leave comments. I will answer you back.

I’ve heard a lot of you say-man she’s brave for putting her weight out there. Let me tell ya it wasn’t easy sharing my “former” weight with everyone. But I look at it like this, the hard part is done…now all I have to do is focus on eating healthy 🙂

My great grandmother-Mama Kidd-used to say “folks just look healthier with some meat on their bones.” Mama Kidd could say that…she was slender. My mom said she was also one of the best cooks.  Mama Kidd always had food on the table. She and Papa Kidd grew their own vegetables, had cattle for meat and chickens for fresh eggs. Everyday, she cooked a big lunch complete with potato salad, homemade biscuits (back then they used real lard. Mom said those biscuits would melt in your mouth), and desert. Of course in Mama Kidd’s day, the crops had to be harvested and there were chores to do so they worked off the fat and calories. Today, our eating habits are not much different only we don’t hoe crops and tend to the livestock. 🙂

A lot of you have mentioned how much weight you want to lose. I think that is great! Setting a goal can be a huge motivator but it can be a let down too. We’ve all done it, set a goal, lose some weight and quit because we either gave up, got bored or thought the weight loss was too slow. I have a long term weight loss goal, yes, but my primary focus is to lose 1 to 1 1/2 pounds per week until I hit my mark. If you think about it week to week you are much more likely to carry through with eating healthier-and that is going to mean better results on the bathroom scale. So take it one pound at a time and don’t beat yourself up if you lose 1/2 pound or even gain a little. As Scarlett O’Hara said in “Gone With The Wind” tomorrow is another day.

My mom and I were talking this weekend and she asked me if I knew how much I weighed before starting this diet plan. I told her I did know but I chose to ignore it. Weight and beauty can be a struggle when you have a job in the public eye. So much pressure is on you to be thin and look young. Since I took over the anchor desk for the 4pm show, I have been beating down my self cofidence. See, I knew how big I looked standing in front of that desk, next to my lean and trim co-anchor, I just chose to turn my head and look the other way. And when they moved us to the monitor where you see a full length shot, I would hold my script in just the right way to hide my roll(s). I realized, after seeing a particular promo run and you could clearly see a turkey goozle hanging from my double chin, that it was time to take control and regain my sense of will power.

As I’ve mentioned before, working in the news business has a strange schedule attached to it. A lot of people forego packing their lunch and instead run to the drive-thru for a meal. If you own a crock pot you can make a delicious cuisine for you and your family and have enough left over to bring for lunch. This is a good way to control the calorie and sodium content. Important note: Watch your portion size and the ingredients you cook with.

I’m posting a crock pot recipe today from the Weight Watcher website that has Points Values and calorie content listed. Look at the portion size before diving into it and make sure it fits into your daily eating plan. Don’t make 2 trips to the crock pot. One portion, eat slowly and enjoy the meal on your plate. Remember that 8″ plate in my first “No Excuses” piece? That is a great way to keep your meal in check. Divide that plate into sections and make sure you leave plenty of room for something green-ease up on the salad dressing though and skip the garlic bread. 😉

Important blog note: Tomorrow a very dear friend of mine will be a guest blogger. She is a wife and mom if 2 precious children. She knows what it is like to struggle with post-pregnancy pounds. She has a great story of weight loss success and maintenance. So don’t miss tomorrow’s post. And-if you know someone in your family or at the office who is looking for some motivation and weight loss tips, send them to my blog. 🙂

Wishing you weight loss and happiness today!

Elizabeth

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe

Need a quick dinner idea that you can throw in a pot and forget about? Well, this Slow Cooker Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe fits the bill! Healthy and delicious, you can treat yourself to a cheesy piece of low calorie lasagna made the easy way.

Ingredients

  • 15 (12oz) whole-wheat lasagna noodles uncooked
  • 1 15 oz container fat free ricotta
  • 3 cups shredded reduced fat mozzarella
  • 1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 1 5-ounce package baby spinach, coarsely chopped
  • 3 large portobello mushroom caps thinly sliced
  • 1 small eggplant, quartered lengthwise and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup liquid egg substitute
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, combine egg substitute, ricotta, salt, pepper, oregano, spinach, mushrooms and eggplant.
  2. Mix both kinds of tomatoes and their juice, basil and garlic, in a medium bowl.
  3. Coat a 6-quart or larger slow cooker with non-fat cooking spray.
  4. Spread 1 1/2 cups of the tomato mixture in the slow cooker.
  5. Arrange 5 noodles over the sauce, overlapping them slightly and breaking into pieces to cover as much of the sauce as possible.
  6. Spread half of the ricotta-vegetable mixture over the noodles and firmly pat down, then spoon on 1 1/2 cups sauce and sprinkle with 1 cup mozzarella.
  7. Repeat the layering one more time, starting with noodles. Top with a third layer of noodles. Evenly spread the remaining tomato sauce over the noodles.
  8. Set aside the remaining 1 cup mozzarella.
  9. Put the lid on the slow cooker and cook on High for 2 hours or on Low for 4 hours.
  10. Turn off the slow cooker, sprinkle the reserved mozzarella on the lasagna, cover and let stand for 10 minutes to melt the cheese.

Preparation time: 20 minute(s)

Cooking time: 2-4 hour(s)

Number of servings (yield): 8

Culinary tradition: Italian

Entire recipe makes 8 servings
Serving size is 1/8th of lasagna
Each serving = 8 Points

PER SERVING: 290 calories; 7 g fat; 38 g carbohydrates; 29 g protein; 8 g fiber

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 9-Setting goals and sticking to them

  1. Vickie says:

    Thanks Elizabeth for sharing your life everyday with us. I look forward to your blog every morning. I have been following since Friday and using the “Lose it” app. I weighed this morning and have lost six pounds. The app has really helped when it comes to how many calories I eat in a day. Also, you can look up restaurants in see what items fit into your meal plan. Lets just say I skipped over the pasta and 6 oz. sirloin for a chicken wrap (it was delish!!!!) Keep up the good work. I’m rooting for you all the way in Fort Payne, Al.

    • Vickie-Way to go! So proud of you!. Isn’t the “Lose It” app fabulous? I’m trying to get my best gal pal who introduced it to me to hurry up and write me a guest blog post about her success. She’s down 25 pounds since the start of the year! 🙂 I owe my success to that little app. It holds me accountable and it is so simple to use. Glad you are having success with it! Good luck and I’m rooting for you too!

      Elizabeth

  2. Beth Salomonsky says:

    ELIZABETH,

    WEIGHT LOSS IS NOT FOR WIMPS, NO MATTER HOW YOU LOSE IT! I ADMIRE YOU DOING IT PUBLICLY AND, HOPEFULLY, YOU WILL INSPIRE MORE TO EMBARK ON THE JOURNEY… APRIL WILL BE 2 YEARS SINCE I MADE A VERY LEVEL-HEADED DECISION TO HAVE GASTRIC BYPASS SURGERY. THE PROCEDURE WAS A BREEZE FOR ME PERSONALLY. THE LEARNING OF HOW TO EAT AFTERWARD HAS BEEN THE WORK. I AM 6’2″ AND WEIGHED 300 LBS. AT MY HEAVIEST. EVERYONE ALWAYS TOLD ME THAT ‘YOU CARRY YOUR WEIGHT WELL BECAUSE YOU ARE TALL”, KNOWING THAT I COULDN’T BE HEALTHY AT A SIZE 22-24.
    I DEDICATED MYSELF TO MY TRANSFORMATION AND HAVE NOW LOST 125 LBS. MY WEIGHT ACTUALLY FLUCTUATES BETWEEN 175 1ND 180 AND I TAKE GREAT CARE TO ENSURE THAT IT NEVER GOES OVER 180. ANYONE WHO SAYS THAT GASTRIC BYPASS IS EASY, HASN’T HAD IT!!! IA AM NOW A HEALTHY SIZE 10; THE SMALLEST I HAVE EVER BEEN IN MY LIFE! HIGH BP IS GONE AT ALMOST 47 YEARS OLD!
    GOOD LUCK ON YOUR JOURNEY AND DON’T LOSE FAITH!!! IT CAN BE DONE! I AM LIVING PROOF!!!!!!

    BETH SALOMONSKY

    • Beth-good for you! Thank you for sharing your story. So glad to hear your weight and BP are now under control. I’ve known a number of people to go through that surgery. They tell me it was a life saving decision. With your height I’m sure you look like a model now 🙂

      Good luck and way to maintain a healthy weight!
      you go girl!

      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

