Day 8-“It’s Not Easy Being Green”

Total weight loss:Β 8.5 pounds

Hello everyone! Hope you survived Super Bowl weekend. I admit I didn’t watch. I’m buried in a grad school mid-term that is about to cause me to have a nervous breakdown. I digress…

Did you get a chance to watch the first installment in my “No Excuses” weight loss journey this morning on WAFF-48 News Today? If not, I will post it to my Facebook page and the blog. I like to think I’ve come along way since that piece was shot last week. πŸ™‚

I’m as amazed by my weight loss as many of you. A lot of it has been water weight. My fingers are thinner, my neck has gone down, and my nose isn’t covering my entire face Β (yes I gain weight in my nose. Go figure). I think much of that is to blame on sodium. I have never been a salt eater. I do not put salt on my food unless it is a baked potato and then I use sea salt. I’ve learned there is a difference in salt and sodium. If you look at the labels on foods you will see sodium levels. That is what makes you feel puffy and bloated. So be sure to try and keep the sodium in check. Restaurants are notorious for serving high sodium foods. If you watch your intake, the weight will come off.

We’ve all heard the saying “eat your veggies.” Well, why not drink them? If you are on Pinterest you know there are some very indulgent food recipies on there. They also offer Β healthy eating boards too. While I was browsing the other day I found a recipe for a smoothie using fruit and spinach. My good friend Emily found the same post. She made it first and said it was awesome! Her 4 year old son liked it just as much. Now, this smoothie may look disgusting but don’t let the green color fool you. It is so tasty, refreshing and good for you! It makes at least 2 servings and the calorie count is low. Drink up!

In a blender combine…

1 banana (i used about a 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup peaches or mango (frozen is fine)

a couple of handfuls of spinach (about 2 cups)

water (enough to mix it all together)

ice (if desired)

Put all ingredients in the blender and enjoy!! I promise you will not be able to taste the spinach. If you use the lighter colored fruits you will get the nice green smoothie. If you don’t have those, strawberries or blueberries are perfectly fine. The color just won’t be the same. Important note: Do not substitute milk for water. It does not combine well with the fruit and can cause some digestion issues.

For Christmas, I got a rice cooker/steamer from the sweetest man on earth! (thanks Lane. You know the way to my heart is through my belly ha/ha!) You can cook rice, veggies, soups, meats whatever all in one pot. Since I’m watching my carb intake I decided to skip the brown rice. Instead, I steamed a pork chop and some broccoli. Let me tell you-Mmmm! Mmmm! Mmmmm! Delicious! If you don’t have one of these cookers get your honey to buy you one for Valentine’s Day πŸ™‚ Mine has the brown and white rice setting. I recommend that because brown rice takes longer to cook. You can make a complete healthy meal in one appliance. I’m all about not messing up the kitchen after I’ve worked all day.

Feedback time: So I want to hear from you. Is this blog helping motivate you to drop the pounds? Would you like for me to add more recipes, menus, diet information? What can I do to help spur your drive to eat healthier? Let me know. I’m open for suggestions.

I like to think of Monday’s as a “fresh start” day. Sunday can be kind of tough with church and trying to get ready for the week. So if this is your first day, welcome. If you are a returning blog fan, I wish you much luck this week.

Try the green smoothie! You won’t be disappointed.

Best to you all!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Day 8-“It’s Not Easy Being Green”

  1. Stacy Flynt says:

    Yes this has gotten me motivated!! Called the diet coach this morning for appointment. I need to stop procrastinating… I have several more pounds to lose than you but we all have our struggles. I have struggled my adult life with my weight, I don’t smoke but I would compare the thought of my weight to a smoker…it is always on my mind.. But I still seem to eat the wrong things even tho I know it’s bad for me…
    I am on pinterest and have also found recipes, gonna try the smoothie, so pleas post more recipes and other things that seem to help you! Have an awesome day!
    Stacy

    • Stacy-You’ve taken the first step and I am so proud of you!! I know how difficult it can be to shed the pounds but if you stick to a low-calorie eating plan you won’t be disappointed. It has been 1 week and I’m down 8.5 pounds. A lot of that is water weight but I will take any weight loss I can πŸ™‚

      I will be posting many more recipes and tips every day. The smoothie is the bomb! I promise you will like it. I find that it is very filling and it is good for your skin πŸ™‚

      The best advice I can give you is this…don’t think long term. Take your weight loss one day at a time. Have a goal in mind but don’t falter if it takes time to reach it. I’ll be blogging more about that probably tomorrow.

      Good luck Stacy and let me know how it goes!

      Elizabeth

  2. Patrick says:

    Fresh spinach or frozen…..does it matter, which do u use?

    • Patrick-I should have made that clarification in my blog…use fresh spinach. Frozen will me a mushy mess. πŸ™‚

      • Patrick says:

        Just made my 1st drink, i have to say it was actually really good! Thanks!

      • Patrick-I’m so glad you liked it! You can use any kind of fruit you like. The lighter colored fruits will keep the color green. Darker fruits tend to make it look muddy πŸ™‚ I don’t know if that would look so appetizing ha/ha

        have a great day!
        Elizabeth

  3. Krissy says:

    I know exactly how you feel!! I need to loose around 100 lbs!!! It’s overwhelming if you think about such a large number!! I have started Weight Watchers and in 2 weeks have lost 7 lbs!!! I wish you all the success in the world! We can do this!! I’m taking it 10 lbs at a time! Really enjoyed watching your journey this morning! It takes alot of strength an courage to do what you are doing!! THANK YOU! For letting us know we are not alone!!!

  4. Susan says:

    This smoothie sounds really good. Our daughter got hooked on green smoothies in Austin, TX. The main green ingredient was kale. I wonder how that would taste in this recipe?

  5. Jason says:

    I can honestly say Ive been on my weight loss Journey for about 2 years now after coming very close to death from Congestive heart failure and a massive fluid buildup. I was overweight anyway to begin with but I would have never thought that the sodium would be what would almost cost me my life. Since then on my journey Ive been doing about the same things (Watching Sodium/Salt intake, Fat intake and calories) and youre right, it will help in taking off the weight. So far in my own journey in 2 years time, I have come down 32 pants sizes from a size 66 to a size 34, and lost over 400 pounds. Thank you so much Elizabeth for sharing your journey with us, I look forward to reading more blog posts from you.

    • Jason-way to rock the weight loss!! Sodium is something I really never considered until my grandmother found out she has a bad heart valve. In order to keep the fluid off her heart, the doctor put her on a no sodium diet. The weight fell off of her. While she is limited in foods she can eat, for 92 years young she is doing very well.

      I wish you the best of luck in your weight loss journey!

      Keep up the good work.
      Elizabeth

  6. christy horton says:

    Yes, your information is very helpful, and I am seriously following what your are doing. I would like to know more about your six meals a day, what do you eat or try to eat at each meal and each snack?

  7. Marie says:

    I just tried the smoothie, and it is delicious! I am currently on Weight Watchers as well. I’m down 8.5 pounds. I’ve found that making sure I get enough water and veggies every day helps me keep the weight coming off and helps me stay satisfied throughout the day. Great job!

    • Marie-Who would have thought a green drink containing spinach and fruit would be so yummy? It sure is good though.

      If you are on Weight Watchers, you will like tomorrow’s post. I’m proud of your success!!!

      Elizabeth

  8. Darlene says:

    Hi Elizabeth,
    Sounds interesting…we have a rice cooker but it doesn’t look like the one in the picture,
    however when I get out to the store tomorrow I will get the stuff for the smoothie and give
    it a whirl and let you know.
    I saw the video on FB…..you are a brave woman………..thankful you are going to get ahold
    of your weight before the health issues get serious.. I wish I had of done so sooner….

    • Darlene-any kind of rice cooker works well. The only reason I recommend one that has 2 rice settings is because brown rice takes more time to cook than white rice. Plus it has a food steamer-so it does double duty πŸ™‚

      You will love the smoothie! I’m saving mine for tonight. πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and good luck ony our weight loss journey.

      Elizabeth

      • Darlene says:

        Elizabeth,
        Altho it takes longer to cook, I fix Wild Rice which I found at w/m, I add some shredded
        carrots, a little celery, when it is about half done. Also, I sent your green smoothie to a
        friend in Illinois…hope that was okay…I haven’t tried the steamed meats, so will have to
        experiment.

  9. Rhea says:

    So proud of you! You are doing awesome. Keep up the great work. Enjoying reading your post everyday they are inspiring. Love you! FYI: I look at your lose it page on my phone everyday to make sure you are recording your food, if not I will get you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

