Day 7- “Kicking Off” a new week


Total weight loss: 7.5 pounds

Happy Sunday! I’m thrilled at my weight loss so far! By simply counting calories and cutting back on carbs I’m seeing great results! I hope you are doing well on your journey to a healthy lifestyle.

Did you have a good weekend? Did you stick to your calorie goal or go over munching on Super Bowl snacks? No big deal if you did. Monday starts a new day! If you are just joining me or you fudged a little on your diet and want to get back on track, don’t beat yourself up!! Start back tomorrow and make it happen! Smile when you look in the mirror and say “I got this!”

A few weeks ago I met with Linda Steakley, a registered dietician with Huntsville Hospital’s Wellness Center. She is super sweet and super smart when it comes to knowing what to eat, how much to eat, and what foods to avoid. The thing I like most about her–she is non-judgemental and she truly cares about your health. She gets that people have bad eating habits and struggle daily with weight. She understands that sometimes we take our frustrations out on the bad foods we love most. She knows we don’t all have access to nutritionists who can sit down and work out a healthy diet plan for us. That is why I am sharing her advice and guideance with all of you. I know it can be difficult to find the right information to get started on a diet plan. Tomorrow morning on WAFF-48 News Today, you will hear from Linda and she will give you some great tips to get started. If you miss it, I’ll post the story on my blog and Facebook page.

Several of you have asked about my calorie intake. Linda chose a 1500 calorie eating plan for me to follow. I keep my calories between 1300 and 1500 daily. I log every piece of food that goes into my mouth. I cannot stress enough how important it is to do this. Knowing how many calories you are consuming is critical to weight loss (regardless if you are counting calories, carbs, fats the same rule applies). That is where the free app I told you about last week comes in helpful. “Lose It” helps keep track of your calories, how much you are eating, any exercise that you do and it has a flow chart that shows your progress. You can even sign up with friends to help motivate each other. It is too simple not to at least give it a try.

Now, I know that 1300-1500 calories doesn’t sound like a lot of food when you work a full time job, go to school, take care of a family-whatever keeps you busy- but sometimes I have trouble hitting 1500 because I’m full. I eat 6 small meals a day. That keeps my hunger in control, my sugar stable, and it helps my lagging metabolism pick up.


Breakfast is the most important meal of the day-and I used to skip it. Now I realize I need that energy to start my day. So we are going to focus on some good breakfast choices. I keep my calorie intake at breakfast around 400 calories. You can balance out your day anyway you want–just remember whatever diet plan you are on you must stay within the daily eating range to see results. You can mix and match the choices below. These are just suggestions.

Breakfast:

1 hard boiled egg 78 calories with the yolk; or 25 calories if you eat just the whites (which are just as delicious)

2 turkey sausage links 140 calories

1 medium orange 62 calories

1 cup skim milk 83 calories

1 slice whole wheat toast 69 calories

1 Tablespoon sugar free jelly 10 calories

1/2 cup cooked oatmeal 150 calories (1 cup 300 calories-do not add butter. This makes the calories go up and you don’t need it.)

Dannon Light & Fit Nonfat Yogurt 80 calories

1 cup Fiber One Raisin Bran Clusters Cereal 170  calories (with 1/2 cup skim milk 210 calories)

Whole-grain waffle, 1, spread with:
All natural peanut butter, 1 ½ Tbsp.
Apple, 1
328 calories

Whole-wheat English muffin
Canadian bacon, 1 slice
Low-fat cheese, 1 slice
Egg white, 1, scrambled
336 calories

Again, these are just a few breakfast ideas to help get your day started. I recommend staying away from the drive-thru line and the frozen breakfast choices at the super market unless you can find ones that fit into the healthy calorie range that best suits you. For example, breakfast bowls are loaded with calories. You can make that same breakfast at home and control the calorie and sodium intake. Scramble an egg using non-fat cooking spray. Heat a few turkey sausages in the microwave and add just a sprinkle of fat-free cheese (I don’t care for fat-free cheese so I just don’t eat it). You won’t miss the fattening potatoes that come in the store bought kind. Also I try to limit my “bread or starch carbs” so say I eat a bowl of oatmeal I don’t eat any other carb (i.e. bread, rice, pasta, cereal) in my day.

Now for those of you cooking for a family, you may be saying I have a lot of people to consider. How do I cook for myself and my family and still stay within my range? You are the cook. You make the decisions. You control the menu. You can make these healthy meals and serve them to your family. They won’t ever know they are eating a balanced diet. Word of caution: Don’t stand in the kitchen munching around while you cook. That just adds on calories. Also, if you have to measure out your portion size, do it!

Be sure to serve something green with your meal. A salad is always a good choice but go easy on the dressing and skip the croutons and cheese. Broccoli, brussle sprouts, green peas, cauliflower, peppers, cucumbers, egg plant, squash, onions etc all good choices and very low in calories.

Beans are a great filling source of fiber. Canned Pinto Beans have 130 calories for 1/2 a cup. If your family likes fish, canned salmon or tuna is a great choice. You can also broil, steam or grill fish-just leave off the butter and oil.

Hopefully this helps you get started in the right direction.

Remember-eat breakfast–it’s what fuels your body to start a good day!

Best to all,

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 7- “Kicking Off” a new week

  1. Gloria says:

    I need to lose about 50 pounds! Diets are hard:(

    • Gloria-Don’t think of the weight that needs to be lost. If you keep that weight loss target in your mind constantly and only slowly lose weight you may give up. Take it one day at a time, one meal at a time, one snack at a time. You will do great! I’ve lost 7.5 pounds in a week-with very little exercise!!! The key is keeping up with every bite of food you eat…cutting back on sweets and carbs…and incorporating more veggies, lean meats, skim milk and fruits into your diet. I advocate exercise and I plan to do more of it. Even if you can only fit in a 30 minute walk, or push ups on the side of the bathroom countertop, you’ve done something to tone or strengthen your body.

      Remember-the weight didn’t come on overnight…and its not going to go away overnight. But if you stick to a low calorie plan you will see results!

      Good luck to you–and take it one day at a time 🙂
      Elizabeth

  2. Latrice Houston says:

    Watching you makes me want to lose weight I weigh 159.2 (know that because I went to doctors today but I’m only 5 feet tall which makes me look chunky this is actually the least I’ve weigh in a long time and I’m stuck I can’t so that calorie counting thing what else can I do? Latrice Houston

    • Hi Latrice-Have you given the calorie count a try? It is much much easier than you think. But I understand it’s not for everyone.
      Here is a suggestion…I’ve got good friends who found success with Weight Watchers. They have an excellent plan to follow. It is a balanced diet-much like the one I am on. You can look them up on line for a clinic near you. Also, cutting back on carbs and incorporating more veggies and fruits will help. Check with your doctor too. He may be able to recommend a plan that will help you lose the weight.

      Let me know if I can help.
      Elizabeth

  3. Darlene says:

    Congratulations on the 7.5……….WooHoo…………you’re on your way…………..

  4. charlotte says:

    That is very good, I know u are excited

Leave a Reply

