Day 6-It’s all in the genes (or jeans)

Weight loss: 5.5 pounds

Happy Saturday everyone!

Yep you read it right! I’m down 5.5 pounds-in less than a week. I’m so happy to see the 180’s gone…off the scale!! See ya 183! I’ve kicked you to the curb!


I have the best parents in the world and I am so blessed by God to call them mine. But ย even with the best parents come some unwanted genes. I have always been told that I am a carbon copy of my daddy. I have his attitude (mom says that’s nothing to brag about ha!), his sense of humor, his hair color, his eyes, his long eyelashes–and his sugar and cholesterol problems. My daddy is a diabetic. I hate that word. I don’t use that word. I replace it with “sugar issues” (sounds sweeter…no pun intended). I hate that my daddy has to deal with this health issue. He is so strong and does exactly what the doctor tells him. He eats right, checks his sugar several times a day, eats only sugar free desert, drinks unsweet tea but he still has to take medication to control his ‘sugar issue’. My mom is the best thing in the world to him. She helps him by cooking diabetic and healthy meals. And when they go out, he knows exactly what he can eat to keep his sugar in check. I don’t know what my dad would do without the support of my sweet mother. I do know he is my hero for going through this unwanted lifestyle that he certainly never asked for. I am so glad he is disciplined and in control of his diabetes. It is true what they say-what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. He is a fighter!

For many of you (myself included since I too have ‘sugar issues’) food can be a tough thing. You want to eat that slice of birthday cake like everybody else but you know what it will do to you and how it will make you feel. I avoid all sweets. My body can’t handle them. I can’t even eat sugar free cake because it makes me sick. I’m fine with that because I never had a sweet tooth. My sugar issue comes from fruit. I’m like a goat…I could hang from a peach or plumb tree and eat every piece of fruit on it (and when I was a kid that is exactly what I did). I’ve been known to eat an entire bag of plumbs in a day. And as good as they taste they make me sick as a dog if eaten in large quantities. So why do I do it? They make me happy and don’t we sometimes eat to make ourselves feel good? So I now have 1 piece of fruit a day. I handle that very well because I eat protein with it. That helps to level out my sugar. It also gives me something to look forward to. And you may be asking yourself…what’s wrong with fruit? It’s healthy. It’s full of natural sugar and that is hard for your body to process if you have high blood sugar levels.

So if you are a person who struggles with ‘sugar issues’ don’t give in and eat that cake, cookie, pie, whatever…walk away from it!!!! Is it really worth the toll on your body to eat something that is really empty calories? I don’t know about you but I want to live. If that means skipping some sweet fattening treat-I’m good with it!

A few years ago, my family and I put together a cookbook in honor of my sweet grandmother. She is an amazing cook-but I will save that for a later blog. We added a section called “Diabetic Delights.” And I promised I would post recipes on here. You can have your desert, in a small amount, if cooked properly. And isn’t moderation the key?

This is one of my favorite recipes that my mom makes. Hope you enjoy it!

Angel Food Oreo Delight

1 angel food cake mix

1 package sugar free Oreo Cookies

1 (12 ounce) sugar free Cool Whip

1 (3 ounce) package sugar free white chocolate pudding

Bake angel food cake according to directions on package. When completely cool, cut top off and lay aside. With shark knife cut trench around cake, leaving about 1-inch on each side. take out middle of cake. Mix pudding with 1 cup milk (will be thick). Add Cool Whip. Crush cookies with rolling pin (leave 2 or 3 for garnish). Fold crushed cooking into pudding mix. Fill trench with mixture. Put top of cake back on and spread mixture on top and sides of cake. Crush or break remaining cookies and sprinkle on top.

Have a great day everyone-and remember….You can conquer anything that comes your way! Take charge…it is your life and your health!

Best to all,

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Day 6-It’s all in the genes (or jeans)

  1. Joy Clement says:

    Great job!! I’m 31 years old and a diabetic of 19 years, so I definitely k.ow the struggle. Please remember though that even if you don’t have a family history of it or weight issues you can still develop it. Simiilarly, if it’s everywhere in your family and you’re overweight you can never develop it. It’s just one of those things. I can eat sweets in moderation and do fine. My A1c levels for the past 6+ years have been below 6.0, which is non-diabetic range and an endocrinologist’s dream!!!! Also, there is NO SUCH THING as borderline diabetes!!! I can’t tell you how many arguments I’ve had about that!! Being borderline diabetic is like being borderline pregnant…you either are or aren’t. If I remember ANYTHING from my education when being newly diagnosed it’s that quote from an awesome nurse. Keep up the good work!!!

    • ha/ha Joy-point well taken. You are correct-you are either diabetic or not. It is just admitting it to yourself that is the hard part ๐Ÿ˜‰ I wish you well in your daily eating habits. If my blog can help in anyway, please let me know.

      Elizabeth

  2. Deb Kent says:

    Good on ya, Elizabeth!

  3. david says:

    Congratulations on tha wt loss, ok we want to know exactly how you are loosing tha wt. I dont have sugar issues or any health problems at this time (knock on wood) my wt is 220 and would like to get down to 195, i think my problem is eating habbits and exercise, i usually loose about 20lbs in tha summer when i can get outside alot.

    • David-until I started counting my calories and cutting back on carbs I was a free eater-meaning I ate anything and everything I wanted. I knew in the back of mind what it was doing to my waist line but I wasn’t strong enough to take control. Everyone struggles with weight and emotional eating (a blog post for this week).

      I stick to a 1500 calorie diet. I eat 6 small meals a day and I’m not hungry. I’ve cut out bread and trailed off on carbs and starches. I eat more veggies, fruit and lean meat. Also if you drink soda, even diet soda, stop! Both can pile the weight up and they are just considered empty calories.

      You don’t have to go to a gym to get the benefits of exercise. Do some push ups on the bathroom sink. It will take the pressure off your lower back and knees and you will feel the burn in your arms. If you have a piece of exercise equipment at home, take advantage of it for 30 minutes a day. And if you have a Wii–get it out and play it! I love the sporting games and you can burn a lot of calories while having fun.

      I’ll be posting some meal plans this week. That should help get you started in the right direction.

      hang in there david! You got this!!!!!
      Elizabeth

  4. Sandy Cagle says:

    Hi Elizabeth, I am a diabetic to so I know what you go thru. My weight problems are mostly hereitary. I have to work doubly hard to lose. It is not easy. The older I get the harder it get for me. I have arthuritis in both knees and my back is bad to. It is very hard to get out and walk like I used to. I try to do what I can. I used to weigh around 450 and I lost down to 270 but it took me yrs to get down that low. Since I am not able to walk as much my weight is slipping up so. I still watch what I eat. My husband mother was a rold model for me cause she didnt eat anything sweet. I am so very glad you are doing what you are doing. Keep it up. I love watching you on 48. Have a great day!! Sandy Cagle, Hartselle Ala.

    • Sandy-you are so sweet! Thank you.

      Weight loss is painfully slow but you can do it! I know with your current health condition it may be difficult to exercise but do what you feel like doing. Maybe keep some light weights next to your chair and do a few arm curls when you can. Keep an eye on your calorie count and you will do just fine.

      Thank you for watching-and thank you for following my weight loss journey!
      Elizabeth

  5. Stacey Barnett says:

    Elizabeth, I am so very proud of you. The weight loss journey is a tough one but you can do this. Eating right and exercising is the key. I think if it was an easier way…..Oprah would have told us. I struggle everyday with my food. I hate cooking. It’s easy to pick up fast food. I like to exercise but that’s only half the battle. Food “defeats” me….. if that makes sense. You hang in there girl…….my new motto is, “Fine by summertime.” Good Luck to you!!!!!

    • Stacey-I know exactly what you mean! Food defeats me as well. I don’t exercise at all the way I should and that has been part of my problem. I’ve made some changes-nothing too drastic that will force me to give up-and I’m pleased at what I am seeing on the scales. Thank you for the support. That means a lot to me! Maybe by summertime we will both be chanting your motto ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck to you too!

  6. priscilla says:

    Hi. Elizabeth, congratulations. On. Your. Weight loss .. I to am. A. Diabetic. I chose. Not to Take Medicine . I have. Brought. My A1cโ€™s down. Thru. Educating.Myself About Food .. I.don’t eat Anything sugarFree ..I drink Lot’s. Of water. And watch. My. Carbs. I have lost. 30 pounds ..sorry about. All. The. Periods .. on. Typing. From. The. Kindle. Fire. It’s new. For me .. lol

  7. Marcie says:

    Way to go, Elizabeth!! I’m neither diabetic nor overweight, just wanted to offer words of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

