Day 3-Dr. Jekyll and Ms. Hyde

ImageChanging your “eating habits” shows up in one’s personality by day 3. Some who cut caffeine cold turkey get a stark raving headache, coming off sugar can give you the jitters, or just the word “diet” can make you want to punch the skinny person in the cubical next to you. Let’s face it day 3 is challenging. It is the “make it or break it” point for some. The thought of eating healthy sounds good on Sunday.  You do well on Monday. By Tuesday you have a few cravings and Wednesday-all bets are off! You throw weight loss to the wind, rip into a basket of deep fried hot wings and a vat of ranch dressing all while washing it down with an ice cold fountain Coca-Cola. (can I get an amen?!) Don’t let temptation get to you! Remember-you can do anything if you set your mind to it.

My reason for weight loss is simple. My blood sugar is too high, my cholesterol is off the charts and my high school reunion is 4 months away. 🙂 What girl doesn’t want to go back all hot and successful? Remember those gorgeous girls in school that you were secretly jealous of? The one’s who could make any piece of clothing look good. The girl’s that all the good looking guys swooned over? Oh to be that girl for one day, right?!? That day never came around for me ha! I was skinny with bad hair and braces. Today I like to think I’ve improved in the looks department but we all know the older we get the maintenance becomes more expensive and its harder to flaunt a good physique.

So on this journey to regain a better body, I’ve given up foods that got me in this situation to start with.  I eat at home or bring my lunch with me through the week (good money saving tip!). I’ve incorporated some form of exercise into my day (Wii sports is a great way to burn calories and have fun). I’ve replaced sodas with skim milk and water. I eat a lot less sour cream and cheese and I stay away from bread. I am also allowing myself 1 small cheat meal, that will likely be an early dinner on Saturday at my favoirte mexican restaurant in Hazel Green. If you deprive yourself that one pleasure you are likely to fail. One small plate of something I love beats lying to myself that I don’t really want it…doesn’t it?

Monday morning my special series piece “No Excuses” will air on WAFF-48 News Today. I get real and I get raw.  I figure it is no secret that I’m overweight so why play it down, right? Hope you will join me. 🙂

Now, as I mentioned in an earlier  this is the week leading up to the Super Bowl. If you can at all avoid the usual fanfare of fattening foods plan ahead NOW so you won’t feel left out or blow your hard earned efforts all together when you knock your guests out of the way to dive head first into a bowl of some creamy thick sauce.

So as promised, here is a recipe for low-calorie dip to go along with those crunchy veggies sticks. It is very good! Trust me!

Herbed Cottage Cheese and Yogurt Dip

Ingredients:
1 cup fat free cottage cheese
8 oz. fat free plain yogurt
1 clove garlic, minced
1 1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. dill
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. red pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/4 tsp. pepper

Directions:
Blend cottage cheese in food processor or blender until smooth. Add other ingredients and mix until well blended. Refrigerate. Makes 2 cups or 8 servings (1/4 cup each).

Serving suggestions: Pour dip into hollowed out green peppers. Cut assorted fresh vegetables such as carrots, broccoli, cucumbers, string beans into strips and place in additional hollowed out peppers. Use red, yellow and orange varieties for added color and appeal.

Stay strong! Day 3 will soon be a distant memory 🙂
Elizabeth

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 3-Dr. Jekyll and Ms. Hyde

  1. You can do this! Keep it going!

  2. If you can hold on for a wk then it becomes a habit! I also like the idea of having a free day. On a low carb diet you can have low fat cheese , Laughing Cow cheese spreads (all kinds of flavors) spread on lettuce leaf (this is your bread) and rolled with deli meat & cheese slices ,LF sour cream mixed with dry onion soup mix/raw veggie, deviled eggs made with LF mayo & dill pickle, chili, (without reg cracker but whole wheat is OK in moderation), pimento cheese or LF cream cheese stuffed celery. Foods to avoid but in moderation- corn, potatoes, rice & white breads ,watermelon, pineapple & raisins to mention just a few. . I get in part of my veggies for the day by drinking V8 juice. Just have to get creative. South Beach diet is on line and give great ideas for eating.

    • Sandra-Thanks for the food tips! I love deviled eggs! I’ve cut back on a lot of the foods you mentioned. I’ve done away all together with bread, pasta, rice, and some high sugar fruits. I love V8 and tomato juice. 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Elizabeth

  3. Caroline Wilson says:

    So proud of you Elizabeth!! You do a fantastic job at WAFF, and I think it’s a great idea for you to share this personal journey you’re on with the public.

    Those pesky reunions …. keep up the good work and you’ll look great!!

    • Caroline-Thank you for the very sweet comment. This is a very difficult journey to share but I think it is one we all battle. I feel like my viewers are my support system. We have to help each other, right? 🙂

      Have a great day!

  4. Darlene says:

    Are you doing any kind of exercise to drop 5.5 pounds?????
    I have a bunch of health issues, and has been a battle for this
    shorty for a lifetime….

    • Darlene- I admit I have done very little exercise this week. I’ve been so busy with work and graduate school I haven’t had a lot of time. I have counted every calorie that has hit my lips! I stick to a 1500 calorie plan (or a little less)-fruits, veggies, lean meats and cut out the carbs (allowing myself only brown rice once or twice a week. I had none this week). If you log everything you eat you will see where the weight is coming from. Keep to a certain calorie count and you will do fine. I find 1200 is too few so a good range is 1300-1500.

      I do have an elliptical at home (which I will use today). I also do push up’s on the bathroom sink. It takes the pressure off my knees and hips and allows me to work and tone my arms.

      Hope this helps some! Good luck to you and let me know if you need further information!
      Have a great day!

      • Darlene says:

        Hi Elizabeth,
        There is a lot of things I’d tell you, (laugh here) but this is a public forum..I admire you
        for making this public….no one but my husband knows(and my assorted drs.) know how
        much I weigh…

        I had a grandmother with Diabetis, both my older brothers are now gone w/health issues from smoking(not me)and I am the last of my family. I have Arthritis in several places, one
        of which is lower back from broken bones, diagnosed with kidney disease, hi blood
        pressure, and a bit of hypothyroidism.

        Exercising hurts, although I have a recumbent stationery bike and a treadmill, which I am
        trying to sell so I can try an elliptical, which would be easier – theoreticaly speaking on my
        joints.

        So I am following your journey with a lot of interest. Is your piece going to be on the
        Early show? like before 8 am??? or is the video reports on your journey possibly goiing
        to be on the website? I don’t sleep well, and usually is 1 to 2 before I kick off so my husband lets me sleep til 8-830……..

        Blessings and congrats on the extra 2 pounds down…I saw on todays mail you are
        down more………

        Darlene

      • Darlene-Let me tell you girl…seeing my weight in that promo piece was tough!! (can I just say it was a man’s idea to go public with that ha/ha) Despite the embarrassment hopefully it will encourage others to join me–like you 🙂

        I can understand about having some joint issues. I was in a bad car wreck a few years ago and my knee and hip were injured. I still can’t sleep on my left side but it seems that exercising helps work out the stiffness. I too have an elliptical and let me tell you…it is great! It really takes the pressure off your hips, knees and other joints. I bought mine at Wal-Mart after Christmas. It is the Gold’s Gym edition.

        My piece runs sometime during the morning show (4:30a-7a). I wish I had a time to tell you. The producer who puts that show together obviously doesn’t work the same shift as me. I haven’t had a change to ask her. If you miss it I will post the video on my blog and Facebook page. 🙂

        You can do this! I am so proud of you for joining me. If you will keep track of your calorie intake you will do just fine. I didn’t do much exercise at all this past week and I did better than expected. Remember, take it one day at a time. I’m pulling for you!!!

        Keep me posted on your progress.
        Elizabeth

  5. Darlene says:

    Glad you are doing this before it is life threatening….

  6. Darlene says:

    I am gungho for the Elliptical, but since we live in a small house, I have to do something with
    the treadmill first…he would put it in the middle of the living room floor if I asked him, but we already have the other 2 pieces in there plus furniture…..CAN we say slightly CROWDED????

    It is a good thing I have a sense of humor. I will go check in on your FB page, and sign up for
    that too…….sorry about the car accident you were in….mine came from getting the snuff kicked
    out of me years ago…..
    I look forward to the video….and will be off to FB now……………

    By the way, thanks for todays post with the breakfast ideas on it…….

Leave a Reply

