Day 2-And the Super Bowl

You may be planning to have people over to watch the Super Bowl Sunday night. Have you thought about the snacks you will serve? If you don’t want to undo all your hard efforts to lose weight think about the calories you and your guests will be indulging in through 4 quarters of football and an elaborate half time show. Remember-you are not playing pro ball just watching and that doesn’t burn a lot of calories ūüôā

This week, I will be posting low-calorie appetizer/menu suggestions that will feed your hunger without putting weight on. Trust me you will LOVE these recipes and your guests will never know they are eating healthy! I’ll get to that in just a second…

First, What kind of diet plan are you on? Maybe you’ve found success with some of the name brand diets or perhaps you are watching what and how much you eat. I am focused more on a high protein diet with minimal carbs. Before, I skipped meals but made up for it when I got home from work. Now, I eat breakfast before I leave and pack snacks/lunch that will keep me full throughout the day.

I am on a 1500 calorie plan. I try to stay right at that number or a little below.
Here’s how my day looks so far…

Breakfast-
1 hard boiled egg                78 calories
1 cup nonfat/skim milk     83 calories
1 turkey sausage link        70 calories

Lunch-
14 cherry tomatoes         43 calories
sliced turkey                   120 calories
deli sliced chicken            80 calories
1 orange, sliced                62 calories

Snacks-
Dannon Nonfat Yogurt       80 calories
1 cup Fiber One cereal     170 calories
1/2 cup chocolate pudding  140 calories

That leaves me with about 594 calories for dinner. I didn’t eat enough calories during the day yesterday so that left me with like 700 when I got home. So, I ate 2 pork chops and a plate full of steamed veggies. I still had enough calories for a few cups of popcorn without going over my alloted calorie intake. I even played a few games of basketball on the Wii for exercise.

Now you may be scratching your head over some of the food choices I’ve made. I will explain that in a later post.

So, here is today’s Super Bowl Super low-calorie recipe. I borrowed this from Food Network’s Hungry Girl. She has a lot of low-calorie yummy foods! I’ve cooked it before and trust me you won’t be disappointed.¬†

Nutrition information is posted below.

Enjoy!

1 large onion
1/2 cup Fiber One Original bran cereal
1/4 tsp. garlic powder, or more to taste
1/8 tsp. onion powder, or more to taste
1/8 tsp. salt, or more to taste
Black pepper, to taste
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters Original)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Slice the ends off the onion and remove its outer layer. Cut onion into 1/2-inch-wide slices and separate into rings. Set aside.

Using a blender or food processor, grind cereal to a breadcrumb-like consistency. Season crumbs with the spices and transfer to a plate or bowl. Set aside.

Fill a small bowl with egg substitute. Prepare a baking sheet (or two) by spraying with nonstick spray. Set aside.

Pop-Up Tip! For the following step, use tongs or a fork to dip the rings into the egg substitute and cereal crumbs — it’ll keep your fingers from getting eggy & crumb-covered. (Don’t pierce the rings with the fork; just balance them on it.)

One at a time, dunk each ring in egg substitute, give it a shake to remove any excess, and then coat it in the seasoned crumbs. Evenly place rings on the baking sheet(s).

Bake in the oven until outsides are crispy and insides are soft, 20 – 25 minutes, carefully flipping rings over about halfway through. Serve with mustard, if using. Enjoy!

**155 calories, 1g fat, 515mg sodium, 41g carbs, 16g fiber, 7g sugars, 9g protein — PointsPlus¬ģ value 4*

 Have a great day!

Elizabeth

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 2-And the Super Bowl

  1. Jess says:

    Usually Sunday is my Rest Day, but I plan on getting in a run so that I have some extra calories to play with on Sunday evening. Haven’t planned out our menu yet.

    I am carb cycling and it seems to be working great!

  2. Eva says:

    I make BAKED chicken wings for my husband & use a very light bbq sauce & will use celery & carrot sticks w/ a homemade dip (using light products). I also love Baked Tostito Scoops & regular salsa if you don’t have to watch sodium. Luckily, my husband likes to drink lots of water while watching football games, so I’ll join him in that. No more pizza & fried wings for us! I use Weight Watchers online.

    • Eva-oh how I love hot wings! I’m not a fried food fan but that is the one indulgence I do crave.

      I bake mine in the oven with some hot seasoning (no calorie) sprinkled on them. When they come out, I put a little bit of low calorie wing sauce on them. Oh so good! For a dip, I skip the high calorie high fat ranch and make my own with no-fat Greek yogurt. Nobody knows the difference ūüôā

      Keep on doing great with your weight loss!

  3. Chris Palmer says:

    I posted this on the Facebook entry as well:

    I’m mostly following the “slow carb” diet from Tim Ferris’ 4-Hour Body. Basically, it’s 6 days a week of no grains of any kind, no sugars, no fruit, minimal dairy. Lots of vegetables, lots of protein. The only carbs allowed are beans and they are encouraged (this deals with the low energy levels in pure Atkins type diets). Breakfast is boiled eggs and sausage and coffee. Lunch is usually a salad, an avacado, or lunch fajitas if I want to eat out (no rice, no tortillas, no chips). Dinner is anything from a steak with salad and grilled vegetables to a can of pinto beans with a spoon of salsa in them. No “diet” foods and no overly processed foods. I’ve eliminated all soda – diet or otherwise. Coffee, tea, water, and maybe a glass of red wine with dinner. On the 7th day, I eat whatever I want and whatever I’ve been craving all week – fruit, pizza, pasta, ice cream, baked potatoes, burgers and fries, etc.

    I’ve been losing an average of 10lbs per month and I’m down nearly 30lbs so far.

    The most amazing thing to me is that after eliminating the carbs and the soft drinks and making sure I eat a high-protein breakfast without fail, I’m NEVER weak with hunger. I don’t snack. Sometimes I’ll forget to eat lunch until 2PM or so. I don’t feel deprived because I’m never more than 6 days from whatever I’m craving. I don’t count anything. Best diet I’ve ever tried. I once lost around 35lbs counting calories and I had to snack constantly, felt miserable and irritable, and spent too much time bookkeeping.

  4. I enjoy the eating 6 times a day style. You never go hungry and it’s what your body needs. No one should skip meals. You’ll just add on later. Another healthy tip that I have learned through the boot camp I attend is you should not eat more than 30g of carbs in one meal and not more than 100 in a day. So, those onion rings wouldn’t work for me unless it’s my cheat day. Your cheat day is very important as it “resets” your body’s metabolism. Now, you don’t want to gorge yourself on cheat day, but some of those Super Bowl treats won’t be completely off limits. I tried the counting calories, but it only works to a certain extent. The low (notice I didn’t say “no”) carb and high protein is the way to go. I also recommend not using the words, “I’m on a diet.” The word “diet” is anything and everything you eat. So called “diets” don’t work. Lifestyle changes do. Good luck!

    • Courtney-you read my mind. In fact, that was one of my blog posts for the week-the dreaded word DIET! I hate that word. It is just as bad as saying diabetes. Both seem like a death sentence. I like lifestyle change too.

      High protein and low carb is better for my high sugar. I can tell it is down and that certainly makes me feel better!

      Thank you for the tips! I wish you well on your healthy lifestyle journey too ūüôā

    • Thanks for the carb tip! I’ll certainly work to keep it around that number. Have a great day!

  5. I’m using South Beach Diet which is low carb. This diet recommends low fat foods that are “free”. First 2 wks you are very strict, no bread, no sugar whatso ever. After that you add fruit, whole wheat bread, pasta, etc. You can look over a basic diet on line. You get where you’re not hungry at all and the cravings for bread and sweets is gone physically. Unfornately I have a mental problem about still wanting them. But not having the cravings helps with this.

  6. mudchik08 says:

    How much of each of the things that you ate during the lunch and dinner did you eat.. Like how many slices of turkey and was it just like the Thanksgiving turkey or deli sliced? This is where my problem comes into play.. Do you refrence off the serving sizes? If so then I totally understand. Thank you so much for posting this I am getting ready for my weddign coming up and I need a good lifestyle change. My fiance can just drink water and lose about 15 pounds.. It kills me!

    • I buy the packs of turkey (think it is called Budding). The calorie count is 90-120 depending on the kind of meat you buy. I eat the whole pack and skip the bread. I also eat a wedge of Laughing Cow Light Swiss Cheese with pretzels, sugar free Jello’s, a piece of fruit and some kind of raw veggie-preferably tomatoes.

      Hope this helps. Let me know if you have questions!

Leave a Reply

